How To Dress To Impress At Your Job Interview

selfie

Sleek hair and nude toned makeup.

Have a job interview soon and want to look professional but at the same time keep true to your style? I have the answers! I was in this situation myself this week. In the past I have kept it simple with a pencil skirt and a blouse but I felt uncomfortable and I certainly didn’t feel like myself. This time around though I was convinced that I could succeed the interview and look stylish at the same time. Here’s how I did it:

The Face & Hair

face

I have read soooooooo many articles that claim to look as natural as possible in regards to your makeup. But not all of us feel confident without our glam and that could massively affect your performance in the interview. I want to be confident and powerful! And I don’t know about you but any company that would prefer me to not feel this way is one that I would not wish to be employed by.

I did try and keep my makeup simple. I toned down my usual smokey eye by using lighter colours. I used bronzer on the lid, Naked 2 in shade ‘tease’ on the socket and outer crease and ‘bootycall’ on the inner corner. Topped with liquid liner and a few coats of mascara. I also stuck to my usual highlight and contour and finished with a nude lipstick.

Just having straight hair doesn’t make me feel as though I look professional and therefore I decided to do one of my favourite hair styles which is fool proof on even the worst of your bad hair days.

First, I straightened my hair with GHD irons. I then put my hair in a middle parting and separated the two sides and placed that hair behind my ears. After, back-comb the crown in two sections. Spritz some hairspray and brush out the back-comb starting at the bottom of the hair to ensure that your effort is not wasted and you have the volume required.

The Outfit

outfit full

Dress: New Look, Bracelet: Marc Jacobs

Don’t want to opt for the pencil skirt and blouse combo? Stand out and your interview with a jumper dress. Dresses are a great way to feel good at an interview but make sure it is at least knee-length. The dress that I’m wearing has the shirt collar within the dress. However, you could achieve the same look with a jumper dress and a white blouse underneath, or even a shirt underneath a v-neck jumper with a pair of black trousers would look just as fab. To finish the look I teamed this with a pair of black heels. Make sure you can walk properly in the heels you choose though, you don’t want to LITERALLY stumble at the first hurdle!

And if you don’t believe that this is a great idea for an interview, then you don’t have to listen to me. But here’s a fact… I got asked to do a trial day at the company so I must’ve done something right 😉

Of course, the look is just the first part but first impressions are so important and if you feel super confident in your clothes, it really makes a great difference to how comfortable you feel in the interview.

Have a great weekend guys!

Molicia xo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

